jDiction Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

jDiction 2.2.0 released. http://jdiction.org/downloads

Author Topic: Can jDiction be used to duplicate the content of a site?  (Read 996 times)

ollehar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Can jDiction be used to duplicate the content of a site?
« on: April 01, 2022, 02:37:16 pm »

Hi,

To do a translation of a site in Joomla, you have to copy the menus, modules and articles, as well as update the relations between them, so that the new menus point to the new articles. Does jDiction help anything in this workflow, and does it assume the copy is already done, before export and import?

Thanks in advance!
Olle
Logged

Harald Leithner

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1668
    • View Profile
Re: Can jDiction be used to duplicate the content of a site?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2022, 03:07:48 pm »

Hi,

that's exectly the usecase. You can but don't need the joomla core multilanguage system. Translations are created in it's own interface per module/content/menu. it doesn't need it's own copy. Also export and import works without preparation.
Logged
Joomla 3.9.x Release Lead
Vote at JED

ollehar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Can jDiction be used to duplicate the content of a site?
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2022, 04:26:41 pm »

Hi,

Thanks for the reply!

We're already using the core Joomla language system for four languages, but now we'd like to automate the import/export process. So we're trying to figure out if going back to FaLang would be worth it. So jDiction works similar to FaLang, providing its own database layer?

Olle
Logged

Harald Leithner

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1668
    • View Profile
Re: Can jDiction be used to duplicate the content of a site?
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2022, 05:00:55 pm »

Yes, it has it's own database layer similar to falang.
Logged
Joomla 3.9.x Release Lead
Vote at JED