jDiction Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

jDiction 2.2.0 released. http://jdiction.org/downloads

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language  (Read 4091 times)

stajp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile

Hi Harald,

I have a strange issue with jDiction after migrating a website to a new server. The thing is that when I click to change the language, the content language remains the same as it was. When I inspect the page code, it shows that the language is the one that I selected. Then when I reload the page, the selected language gets loaded.

Even stranger thig is that this bug doesn't happen with Default Language, only with the Translations. If I change to the Default language, everything is as it should be.

Before that I updated from J3.3.6 to J3.4.1 and jDiction from 1.3.2 to 1.4.1.
But on my production server it works fine. When installed on the other server, the issue arises.

Do you have any idea why the translations don't get loaded on first page load?

Thank you and best regards
Marko


« Last Edit: March 31, 2015, 08:51:29 pm by Harald Leithner »
Logged

Harald Leithner

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2015, 11:44:57 pm »

Hmm there was a problem in 1.4.0 but i sorted this out with 1.4.1.

Do you use sef URLs?
Logged

stajp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2015, 09:39:59 am »

Yes, I use SEF URLs nad URL rewriting.

In "System - Language Filter Plugin" everything is set to Yes.

Strange thing is when I go to an article and want to change the language, the link for the other language looks perfectly ok, but then it just redirects to the homepage.

Can I send you an access details to look at the issue?
Logged

Harald Leithner

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2015, 12:54:43 pm »

yes please
Logged

Harald Leithner

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2015, 01:40:08 pm »

Seams to work now.
Logged

stajp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2015, 02:27:08 pm »

Hi, Harald. It almost works...
It works once the first translation shows, that is after the page gets refreshed for the first time after selected a new language.

But one must first click a language two times or refresh the page.

Any idea why this is happening?
Logged

Harald Leithner

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2015, 02:28:53 pm »

?! I installed a ned version of the plugin that handles some translation parts, after this it worked for me...

do you still have problems?
Logged

stajp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2015, 02:44:22 pm »

The problem persists with the first click of the new language.
After first click it doesn't load the language selected.
On second click on the same language or the other language, everything starts to work normally.

hmmm...
Logged

IngusA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2015, 09:53:47 am »

Hi,
I also get this strange mistake after update to J3.4.1 and jDiction to 1.4.1
Any ideas?
Logged

IngusA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2015, 11:49:42 am »

I'ts a not a jDiction problem, i'ts J3.4.1 languagefilter plugin!

Very easy! You can copy an older version (from J3.3.6) of languagefilter.php file from the language_switcher plugin and overwrite the excising one. (yoursite/plugins/system/languagefilter/languagefilter.php)
The older version of languagefilter.php attached.

Regards,
Ingus
Logged

stajp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2015, 08:37:12 pm »

Ingus,
it worked!
Thanks a million.
Now I just need to remember to check (and if necessary overwrite the file) with the next Joomla update.

BR
Logged

Harald Leithner

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2015, 08:51:12 pm »

Not the best plan, because I have to fix this and can't reproduce it here.
Logged

IngusA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2015, 09:24:02 am »

Hi Harald,
Ofcourse not the best plan but at this moment it helps to change language on my site with one click on the language flag.
I did not understand, are you have this fix or this fix come later?

Best regards,
Ingus
Logged

Harald Leithner

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2015, 12:18:23 pm »

At the moment I have no installation with this problem but maybe tomorrow, so I can search for the problem.
Logged

IngusA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Language gets changed but jDiction doesn't change to new language
« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2015, 12:35:24 pm »

Thank you Harald!!!!  :)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2